Well, what started out as a great day didnt turn out so much for us. But hey, its our perogative/opinion right? Right. So here goes..
Got up early, got the ferry to Koh Phangan. It was a gorgeous sunny day, the sail was smooth and we arrived safe and sound.
We wandered around Thong Sala, the main city there, for about an hour, had some lunch and caught a taxi to Haad Rin where we then caught a water taxi to Sanctuary beach. E had been there ages ago and recalled it was quite nice. It was nice, but the actual resort of Sanctuary was pricey! We opted for a hut with a spot called 'Love Lips'. Yeah..
Anyways, the hut was the most ghetto we've had thus far, and not for any cheaper either. We had already decided that we would leave the next day and maybe head up north on the island to check out a different resort. We did a short trail walk over to the next beach, but it just didnt have a good relaxing vibe. More of a touristy/money vibe. Not great.
After dinner and a chill out in the nice restaurant of Sanctuary, we hit the hay thinking we would be up early to walk back to Haad Rin and avoid the rip off water taxi. But the beach had other plans! And those plans were a trance-rave-beach party starting at 1 am and going until we after we left at 8 am... It was so loud.
Party poopers, I know.
So, up at 6:30 am as there was no use trying to sleep anymore, and off we went, up the crazy road that we thought went to Haad Rin. 2.5 hours and a lot of sweat later, we were on the main road almost back to Thong Sala! Caught a taxi from there and went to the ferry.
Yes, the ferry. We decided that we would head up north in Thailand instead, as all the reading we did about Koh Samui or Koh Phi Phi and Ko Lanta all made them sound super jet-setter/tourist trap, and after the wonderful time had on Koh Tao, we werent up for it.
So, on the ferry we went, which was a nice sail as well, and landed us in Donsak, where we caught a fancy bus to Surat Thani. We had a few hours to wait for our train so we had a bit of a wander and had some dinner. Our train ended up being a couple hours late (big shock! not really...) and we were off, back to Bangkok, to catch another train to Chiang Mai!
I did have every intention of getting the pics up today, but apparently E's camera will not read my sim card, so I need to come back later today/tomorrow to get the rest loaded up. But soon! Honest!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment